Have you received an attractive credit proposal? Watch out for scams


INSIGHT
Published
Jan 20th '22
Share
Facebook

The Financial Services and Markets Authority (FSMA) warns the public against the activities of unauthorized lenders who offer false credit to consumers.

 

In recent months, the FSMA has identified 36 fraudulent lenders who offer false credit to Belgian consumers via the Internet. Consumers get in touch with these lenders in a variety of ways: they are approached unsolicited via email or social media (Facebook, WhatsApp, etc.), or they find advertisements on the internet.

 

However, in reality, these are false offers of credit made in order to wheedle money out of consumers. The providers are fraudsters pretending to be authorized lenders or credit intermediaries and they do not shy away from using the names of authorized entities. These are cases of cloned firms.

 

These fraudsters offer consumers credit at very attractive conditions. For example, a lender claims to extend substantial loans at a low interest rate. The lender may also claim not to check whether the consumer is a poor payer and has taken out loans in the past that he/she was unable to repay.

 

If a consumer wishes to take up the offer, he/she is asked to make certain payments supposedly to cover costs relating to the credit (e.g. an insurance premium to protect the lender against the risk of the loan not being repaid, dossier fees, administrative costs, etc.). Those costs are, however, fictitious.

 

Once those so-called costs are paid, the lender disappears without a trace, making it nearly impossible to recover the amounts paid.

 

The FSMA thus advises absolutely against responding to such offers of credit.

 

Companies operating unlawfully and against which the FSMA warns the public are the following:

 

  • Allright Company (https://allright-company.com/)
  • BDPM (https://bdpm-group-bank.com/)
  • Best Lening (https://best-lening.com/)
  • BPI krediet (https://bpikrediet.com/)
  • Carrefourdupret (https://www.carrefourdupret.com/)
  • CEFIPRO (https://www.cefipro-kredietfinanciering.com/)
  • Credit Conso Cash (https://credit-conso-cash.com/nl)
  • Eight88 Griffins (https://888griffins.com/)
  • Euno-Krediet (https://euno-kredit.com/)
  • Fiata-Geld (https://www.fiata-geld.com/)
  • Financial Credit Union (https://financial-credit-union.be/)
  • Financiele hulp (https://financielehulp.com/)
  • Financiële oplossing (http://financiele-oplossing.com/)
  • Financiering services (https://financieringservices.com/)
  • Finev Financial (https://finev-financial.com/)
  • G-lenen (https://g-lenen.nl/)
  • Geld Finanz (https://www.geld-finanz.com/)
  • Global Services Agency & Financiën (https://global-financien.com/)
  • Halderen Lening (www.halderen-lening.com)
  • HosmyaInvest (https://hosmyainvest.com/)
  • Illimity Service Krediet (https://illimity-servicekrediet.com/)
  • Joy Service (https://joy-service.com/)
  • Kovack Finance (https://kovack-finance.com/)
  • Magda Ruppe (www.magdaruppe.com)
  • Maxi-Financiën (https://maxi-financien.com/)
  • Mijn snelle tegoed (https://mijn-snelle-tegoed.com/)
  • Oplosing Finance (https://oplosing-finance.com/)
  • Privat-Kreditering (https://privatkreditering.com/)
  • Snel Krediet (https://snel-krediet.com/)
  • Snel Krediet Financien (https://snelkrediet-financien.com/)
  • Snel Kredieten (https://snel-kredieten.com/)
  • Snelle Geld Lening (http://snelservicekrediet.com/)
  • Spainco Commercialbank (https://spaincocommercialbank.com/)
  • Ultima Diensten (https://ultima-diensten.com/)
  • Vandaag Geldlening (https://vandaag-geldlening.com/)
  • Vitalfinanzen (https://www.vital-finanzen.com/)

 

The FSMA offers the following general recommendations for recognizing these fraudulent offers of credit:

 

  • Be wary if (out of the blue) you receive an unsolicited credit offer via the internet or via social media.
  • Beware of any offers of credit on unusually favourable terms (a loan that is very large in relation to the consumer’s financial situation, at an extremely low interest rate, with a particularly long repayment period, etc.) that would not usually be granted by authorized lenders.
  • Be all the more suspicious if the lender asks that you first pay a sum of money intended to cover certain costs before issuing the loan. The justifications given for such a payment can vary: they may be called an insurance premium with a view to insuring the lender against default on the loan, dossier fees, authentication costs, administrative costs, etc. These costs are purely fictitious. Once the money has been paid, the ‘lender’ disappears and the victim never recovers the money transferred.
  • Find out whether the lender has the requisite authorization. Via the search engine on the website of the FSMA, you can easily determine whether the person has the requisite authorization or registration. Persons without an authorization or registration may not offer you credit.
  • Consider doing a search for the person using the customary search engines. You may find testimonials by people who have already been approached by him or her. But be alert, as sometimes these are falsely positive testimonials posted by the lenders themselves in order to gain the confidence of investors.

 

More than ever, then, prudence is necessary. In case of any doubt, and before making any (more) payments, don’t hesitate to contact the FSMA using the consumer contact form. As well, please feel free to notify it of any suspicious company that has not yet been the subject of a warning by the FSMA.

 

Source: FSMA

 

About us

LS Consultancy are experts in Marketing and Compliance. We provide a cost-effective and timely bespoke copy advice and copy development services to make sure all your advertising and campaigns are compliant, clear and suitable for their purpose.

 

Our range of innovative solutions can be tailored to suit your unique requirements, no matter whether you’re currently working from home, or are continuing to go into the office. Our services can be deployed individually or combined to form a broader solution to release your energies and focus on your clients.

 

Contact us today for a chat or send us an email to find out how we can support you in meeting your current and future challenges with confidence.

 

Explore our full range today.

 

Contact us

 

Call Us Today on 020 8087 2377 or send us an email.

 

We’re looking for guest writers with business know-how and experience to create outstanding articles to feature on our website. Sound like you? Then find out more…