Beware of these new fraudulent trading platforms


INSIGHT
Published
Mar 14th '24
Share
Facebook

During the last weeks, the Financial Services and Markets Authority (FSMA) continued to receive complaints from consumers concerning new fraudulent online trading platforms that are operating in the Belgian market.

 

These trading platforms try to arouse consumers’ curiosity by placing scam ads on social media. In these fake ads, a (well-known) person often explains how to get rich quick. Trading platforms also use mobile applications to lure victims. These fake ads or mobile applications often form part of the offer of a virtual currency or training course. After clicking on the ad or downloading the mobile app and having given their contact details, the victims are usually swiftly called by fraudsters presenting a concrete investment proposal (in shares, alternative investment products, virtual currencies, etc.). Other trading platforms contact consumers through dating apps and fake social media accounts.

 

The FSMA notes that several fraudulent trading platforms offer a so-called ‘affiliate programme’ to consumers. These programmes exhibit signs of a pyramid scheme.

 

These platforms act very aggressively. Scammers even try to persuade the victims to allow them to take control of their computer remotely in order to make certain money transfers. The fraudsters also try to convince the victims to invest increasingly higher amounts of money. They also make promises of repayment in exchange for one last money transfer. This is a technique to collect even more money from their victims.

 

Victims who agree to do so complain in particular about:

 

  • finding themselves unable to recover their money, or
  • simply not hearing any more from the platform with which they have invested their money.

 

These are most likely cases of investment fraud. Fraudsters not only act without the necessary authorizations, but they also divert the invested funds. In such cases, investors are unable to recover their funds because these illegal service providers are generally located abroad.

 

Various new trading platforms have appeared on the internet in recent weeks.

 

FSMA strongly advises against responding to any offers of financial services made by the following new trading platforms:

 

  • Bitcoineer (https://btceer.com/; https://bitcoineer-official.com/);
  • Admirria (https://admirria.com/);
  • Immediate Alpha (https://immediatealphaapp.com/; https://immediate-alpha-app.com/);
  • Immediate Bitwave (https://immediatebitwave.com/); 
  • Traderai (https://traderai.me/contact/).

 

Various new trading platforms have appeared on the internet in recent weeks.

 

FSMA strongly advises against responding to any offers of financial services made by the following new trading platforms:

 

  • Absolutecoinmarkets (https://absolutecoinmarkets.com);
  • Advanced Traders (https://advanced-traders.com/);
  • Arbitrage Genius (https://arbitrage-genius.ai/);
  • Assets Premium (cloned firm) (https://assets-premium.com)
  • ATB Markets Pro (http://www.atbmarketspro.com/; https://atbmarkets.com/);
  • Bitcoin Knight (cloned firm) (https://trade.bitcoin-knight.com/);
  • CFX Fund (https://cfxfund.com/);
  • City Markets (www.city-markets.com);
  • Coinexmax (cloned firm) (https://coinexmax.org/);
  • Coscoin (https://coscoins.com/);
  • CTRL Investments (https://www.ctrl-investments.cc/);
  • Dax.Pro (https://www.dax.pro/);
  • Digital Century (http://digital-century.net/; http://digital-century.co/);
  • DOEX (cloned firm) (https://doexgf.co/);
  • EdgeFinance Ltd (https://edgefinance.ltd/);
  • Equities Reserves (https://equitiesreserves.com/);
  • Exopip (https://www.exopip.com/);
  • Flaregain (http://flaregain.com/; https://platform.flaregain-tech.com/);
  • FMasters (https://fmasters.io/);
  • Fundiza (https://fundiza.com/);
  • FVP Trade (https://fvptrade.com/);
  • Golden Currencies (http://(client.)golden-currencies.net/);
  • Hfinvest (https://hfinvest.net/; https://hedgefunds.website/);
  • Ibplatform (http://ibplatform.tech/; http://ibplatform.info/);
  • Intrafund (https://www.intrafund.com/; https://www.intrafund2.com/);
  • Ixxen (https://ixxen.com/);
  • JBY Capital (https://jbycapital.com/; https://jbycapital.net);
  • JSS Investments (https://www.jss-investment.com/);
  • Ltd Capital (https://www.ltd-capital.com; https://www.ltdcapital.com; https://www.ltdcapital1.com/);
  • Market2cap (https://market2cap.com/; https://mrk2cap.com)
  • Merrix (cloned firm) (https://merrix.pro/)
  • Mobatrade (http://mobatrade.com/; https://www.mobatrade.co/);
  • Naristech (https://naristech.com/);
  • NFG Finance (https://www.nfgfinance.com/);
  • Onewiex (https://onewiex.com/);
  • Parallel Investment (https://parallelinvestment.io/);
  • PrimefinanX (https://primfinanx-flow.com/);
  • QCFinances (https://qcfinances.io/);
  • SGX Digital (http://www.sgx.digital/);
  • Skyhigh Traders (https://skyhigh-traders.com/);
  • Tpc Invest (https://tpcinvest.com/);
  • TradeAI Group (https://tradeai-group.com/; https://platform.tradeai-group.net/);
  • TradeCryptoMasters (https://www.tradecryptomasters.com/);
  • Trademay (https://trademay.com/);
  • Tradiora (https://tradiora.com/); 
  • Uxcoins (https://uxcoins.io/);
  • Vivoholding (https://vivoholding.io/);
  • Wells Trader (https://wellstrader.com/);
  • Wisewealth (https://wisewealth.ai/);
  • Xtrader365 (https://www.xtrader365.com/);
  • Zertom (https://www.zertom.com/).

 

In order to avoid fraud, the FSMA addresses the following recommendations to investors:

 

Always check the identity (company name, home country, registered office, etc.) of the company. If the company cannot be clearly identified, it should not be trusted.

 

Always verify if the company in question has the requisite authorization. To this end, an easy search on the financial supervisory authority’s website will do. Important! Always beware of ‘cloned firms’: companies that pass themselves off as different, lawful companies even though they have no connection with them. A close look at the email addresses or contact details for the companies in question may prove useful in order to detect this type of fraud and prevent it.

 

More than ever, prudence is necessary. In case of any doubt, and before making any (more) payments, do not hesitate to contact the FSMA using the consumer contact form. As well, please feel free to notify it of any contact with a suspicious company that has not yet been the subject of a warning by the FSMA.

 

Should fraudsters moreover manage to take control of your computer, the FSMA recommends that you contact your bank and, if necessary, that you change your passwords.

 

For more recommendations aimed at avoiding investment fraud, the FSMA invites investors to consult the ‘How to recognize and avoid fraud?‘ page on its website. Also watch the new awareness campaign videos (available in French or Dutch only).

 

Source: FSMA

 

About FSMA

FSMA strives to ensure the honest and equitable treatment of financial consumers and the integrity of the financial markets. The FSMA, alongside the National Bank of Belgium (NBB), supervises the Belgian financial sector. 

 

About us

LS Consultancy are experts in Marketing and Compliance. We provide firms cost-effective and timely bespoke copy advice and copy development services to make sure all your advertising and campaigns are compliant, clear and suitable for their purpose.

 

Our range of innovative solutions can be tailored to suit your unique requirements, no matter whether you’re currently working from home, or are continuing to go into the office. Our services can be deployed individually or combined to form a broader solution to release your energies and focus on your clients.

 

Contact us today for a chat or send us an email to find out how we can support you in meeting your current and future challenges with confidence.

 

Explore our full range today.

 

Contact us

 

Why Not Download our FREE Brochures! Click here.

 

Call Us Today on 020 8087 2377 or send us an email.

 

We welcome individual bloggers / Professional Writers / Freelancers to submit high quality contents. Find out more…

 

Contact us